Skip to content

NDSU Extension Contacts for Flood Preparedness & Recovery

With flood issues at different stages in different parts of North Dakota, NDSU Extension and other NDSU faculty and staff can provide you with a variety of how-to information regarding flood preparedness and recovery. You’re welcome to use these resources in your publications, in your broadcasts, online and in other ways giving credit to NDSU Extension.

Web: www.ag.ndsu.edu/flood

NDSU Extension county office contacts:

http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/extension/county-extension-offices

Here is a list of NDSU contacts who are available for interviews to discuss flood issues.

If you need assistance on a topic not listed, contact Becky Koch at 701-231-7875, becky.koch@ndsu.edu; Ellen Crawford at 701-231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu; or Kelli Anderson at 701-231-6136, kelli.c.anderson@ndsu.edu.

 

General Flooding Issues

Flood expert on a variety of topics, such as preparing for flooding (rural and urban), sandbag filling, dike building and cleaning up after a flood – Ken Hellevang- agricultural engineer, 701-231-7243,kenneth.hellevang@ndsu.edu

Sump pumps – Tom Scherer – agricultural engineer, 701-231-7239, thomas.scherer@ndsu.edu

Crops and Livestock

Livestock indemnity, insurance and related issues because of flooding – Bryon Parman – ag finance specialist, 701-231-8248, bryon.parman@ndsu.edu

Livestock care

  • Gerald Stokka – veterinarian and livestock stewardship specialist based in Fargo, 701-231-5082, Gerald.stokka@ndsu.edu
  • John Dhuyvetter – livestock systems specialist based at North Central Research Extension Center, Minot – 701-857-7682, john.dhuyvetter@ndsu.edu
  • Janna Block – livestock systems specialist based at Hettinger REC – 701-567-4323, janna.block@ndsu.edu
  • Karl Hoppe – livestock systems specialist based at Carrington REC – 701-652-2951, karl.hoppe@ndsu.edu
  • Lisa Pederson – livestock specialist based at Central Grasslands REC, Streeter – 701-424-3606, lisa.pederson@ndsu.edu

Pesticides

Safe pesticide storage – Andrew Thostenson – pesticide program specialist, 701-231-8050, andrew.thostenson@ndsu.edu

Stress and Family Finances

Ways to avoid stress during a flood and talking with children about flooding – Sean Brotherson – family science specialist, 701-231-6143, sean.brotherson@ndsu.edu

Family finances – Carrie Johnson – personal and family finance specialist, 701-231-8593, carrie.johnson.1@ndsu.edu

Food Safety

Food issues when losing electricity and other possible food safety problems – Julie Garden-Robinson – food and nutrition specialist, 701-231-7187, julie.garden-robinson@ndsu.edu

Weather and Climate

Daryl Ritchison – N.D. Agricultural Weather Network director, 701-231-8209, daryl.ritchison@ndsu.edu

Adnan Akyuz – state climatologist – 701-231-6577, adnan.akyuz@ndsu.edu

Videos for Cable Access Channels, Websites, Etc.

Preparedness

Building a Sandbag Dike at www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5XxJbVimQ8

Sandbag Safety Tips at www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJj4B8t38-Q

Planning Ahead: Sump Pump Tips at www.youtube.com/watch?v=8P9b72wW8OQ

Electric Backup Sump Pumps for Houses at www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPQvjRFVtxo

Back-up Sump Pump Battery Selection, Installation and Maintenance at www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGJPuGuRyL8

Planning Ahead: Plugging Household Drains video at www.youtube.com/watch?v=0J7S92c-yMg

Planning Ahead: Portable Generator Safety at www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPEQvPbuE3o

Preparing to Evacuate Your Home when Flooding is Imminent – series of five short videos — https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLnn8HanJ32l4tM28DSHufIkMyn4i8UKnW

Recovery

Flooded House Clean-up – five short narrated PowerPoints — https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLnn8HanJ32l53AJQkba8_JOiWhiP2ta0N

Flooded Home – six short videos — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUv8hnd_1g0&list=PLnn8HanJ32l420HQnjLq2IvlGsA4l33bV

Flood-Damaged Home – series of eight short videos — https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLB476F4179F931EBB

Posted in

Tagged keywords...